Profile photo of a State Farm Agent named: Charles Chitwood

State Farm® Insurance Agent Charles Chitwood

Rating: 4.5 stars out of 5 (110 reviews)

Leave Us a Review

Our customers are the center of our universe and we’re grateful for them. If you’re willing to share your experience about your interaction with our agency, it’ll be a great help for other people looking to make smart and confident decisions about their insurance and financial services.


Take 60 seconds (or more if you want) to share your story by clicking on one of the review links below.

What our customers say about us...

Jessica Huneycutt

October 3, 2022

5  out of  5
"Lois Bishop is the most amazing agent I have ever had the pleasure of working with! She is always so helpful, knowledgeable, and downright personable. She has helped me with car insurance and homeowners insurance and always takes the time to explain coverages and technicalities without ever being condescending like some other agents I’ve worked with in the past. I can not say enough good things about her!"

Donna varner

September 24, 2022

5  out of  5
"Great customer service, friendly staff"

Tony Jons

September 2, 2022

1  out of  5
"Not good if life happens to you they will not even try to help you get a policy no matter the income or ability to pay in advance"

Kenneth Gathers

August 20, 2022

5  out of  5
"Mrs. Bishop was great she helped me out a lot with my insurance situation. A+++"

ray jones

May 29, 2022

5  out of  5
"State Farm is strictly about family when you do business with them. There business is family. And they will back you."

Marion Monk

May 6, 2022

5  out of  5
"met all my insurance needs st a fair rste"

Carol Hermanowski

November 13, 2021

5  out of  5
"The new receptionist that you have it State farm is very"

Mike Kehoe

August 29, 2021

5  out of  5
"Great company, knowledgeable staff, easy going"

David Bruns

August 18, 2021

5  out of  5
"Constant professionals. Customer service outstanding"

Kim West

August 17, 2021

5  out of  5
"I want to thank Lexi for all her help she answered all my questions if she didn't know the answers she found the answer she's a great asset to that company thanks for helping me get my daughter on the insurance"

Q Remember

August 4, 2021

3  out of  5
"always so upbeat, professional, and helpful. Loyal customer."

Stephen Pace

July 9, 2021

5  out of  5
"Lyndsey Follis is an outstanding assett. My house was recently reclassified into a flood zone in january. I found out about it in june, when i got a letter from my mortgage company. On top of that, i am also currently overseas. I called Charles Chitwood state farm and Lyndsey Follis was of great assistance from the first interacrion, until i had the flood insurance secured. At first there was a snafu, as my house was not classified as being in the correct city, and FEMA couldnt issue me insurance. Lyndsey was on top of it and followed up with the necessary agencies until the error had been corrected. I was having a bit of anxiety, but she kept in touch with me and let me know the situation. It took about two weeks to get everything resolved. She even made sure the documents were sent to my mortgage company. If i own more properties that require flood insurance, i will definitely return thanks to my interaction and experience working with Lyndsey. HIGHLY RECOMMEND - THANK YOU LYNDSEY."

Mandi Polston

June 15, 2021

5  out of  5
"My husband and I have been dealing with Charles Chitwood State Farm for a long time. Laura Kersting has been helping with adding a boat to our policy. She has been amazing with everything. Any questions I had, she was able to answer. She was also very quick with her responses. She has really been a pleasure to deal with. We highly recommend Charles Chitwood State Farm."

Helen Suggs

April 19, 2021

5  out of  5
"Mr. Charles Chitwood and his God-Sent Staff at State Farm Insurance in Summerville, SC, helped me so much through a severe crisis recently. In particular, Mr. Benak R. Smith went way above and beyond the call of duty to get involved and helped me through one of the worst times in my life! Ben and the other great Staff there at Charles Chitwood's Agency truly saved my life by their hard work and immediate intervention on my behalf one dark day. State Farm's slogan is so right-on! Charles Chitwood and his Staff at State Farm are THE best neighbor I've ever had; and they were a great blessing from God! I cannot thank them enough for their outstanding service!"

sam Boccella

April 2, 2021

4  out of  5
"Laura was amazing! Thank you for all of the help and savings , she rocks."

Roy Loreto

February 26, 2021

5  out of  5
"Being young and in the military, it’s quite difficult to bring myself to finally be an adult and get car insurance. I’ve been calling every major insurance company for quotes and the call has been substandard. To be completely honest, I didn’t want to go with State Farm because I would rather have USAA since they are military operated. But I decided to test the waters and give State Farm a call. I spoke with Laura Kersting to get a quote and I was very pleased with the customer service. As a typical consumer, I really value good people who are easy to talk to. Laura was a very professional and sweet person. It’s really people like her that make people feel comfortable about taking big steps in life (like getting your very first car insurance policy). She gave me good answers and did her best to find more information to better help me. Like I said, I didn’t really take State Farm seriously. I only called State Farm because I was advised by my family to look at every option to find the best value. I had a good experience and State Farm offers good discounts. However, if it wasn’t for Laura, I probably would have just gone with Geico. But now I look forward to opening a policy with state farm in a couple of days."

Tremendous Brunette

February 23, 2021

5  out of  5
"This State Farm has an excellent team! Lois is exceptional! She has always been kind, friendly, & helpful. She has Stayed late to help me more than once, and always answers my questions with a smile! I have also always been greeted with a friendly voice when Carrie or Brittany answers the phone. And to top it off they beat progressive by $700!"

Yog Morris

January 28, 2021

5  out of  5
"Special thanks and shout out to Laura. Super friendly.."

Melissa Mount-Adams

January 27, 2021

5  out of  5
"I worked with Ben and his customer service is excellent. Ben went above and beyond for me. He is always ready to go the extra mile for their customers. Thank you Ben for all your help!"

Brenna Ray

January 25, 2021

5  out of  5
"I have been in business with Charles Chitwood's office for as long as I can remember. We have always had exceptional service, if for auto insurance or home insurance. Recently we purchased a new home with a builder and working the logistics of our old home insurance with the new home and bundling back in our auto policies; it was never an issue or concern. Ben Smith was on top of it and very helpful with all our needs, he even made suggestions that would save us money! Wonderful experience and I always refer people to this insurance office and will continue to do so."

Shalette Allen

January 23, 2021

4  out of  5
"They have great customer service"

Carrie Chaplin

January 20, 2021

5  out of  5
"We have used State Farm for home and auto insurance for over 20 years. They have always been very helpful, kind and professional in every circumstance."

Vincent Sclafani

December 2, 2020

5  out of  5
"Staff always takes care of me"

Carolyn Sires

November 24, 2020

5  out of  5
"Yesterday I faced the nightmare of replacing my lost license at the DMV. I was told that I couldn’t move forward until I cleared a lapse in insurance coverage in 2019...the “lapse” was on a vehicle that had been totaled by State Farm in January of 2019. The time frame in question was May-June 2019! Despite the fact that people do not typically insure totaled vehicles, I had to reach out to Mr. Chitwood’s office. Justin helped me throughout the day by providing phone numbers for me, helping me to understand what I needed and eventually clearing me to get my license. I so appreciate his assistance!!!"

Shirley Embry

October 26, 2020

5  out of  5
"I want to thank Ben Smith for the assistance he gave me with my parents insurance. He was the ultimate professional and extremely responsive to our needs. I appreciate him not only for giving good advice but also for following up afterward. Thanks again! Gene Embry"